Logo The Grotowski Year 2009
The Grotowski Institute
  • Polish
  • English
City of Wroclaw

Wroclaw European Capital of Culture 2016

the Ministry of Science and Higher Education
The European Theatre Prize

European Theatre Prize – Premio Europa per il Teatro – was founded in 1986 under the auspices of the European Commission. It aims to support cultural integration within United Europe and is being supported by: the Union of the Theatres of Europe, the European Theatre Convention, the International Association of Theatre Critics, the International Theatre Institute UNESCO and the Mediterranean Theatre Institute. The Prize is awarded for the entire creative activity of an individual artist or theatre institution whose works – according to predetermined criteria deepen the understanding and bond of humanity. Since the third edition of the Prize, a jury of acclaimed specialists from all parts of Europe also awards a laurel of New Theatrical Realities – presented to one or more artists who are creating new theatrical language. 

European Theatre Prize, which carries high prestige in the theatre industry comparable to that of the Oscar in film, has had 12 editions so far. The first Prize recipient was Ariane Mnouchkine, founder of Théâtre du Soleil. In the second edition, two years later, the prize was presented to Peter Brook. Some of the other theatre masters awarded the Prize include: Giorgio Strehler, Heiner Müller, Václav Havel, Robert Wilson, and Pina Bausch. Last year, for the first time in history, the New Theatrical Realities award winner was a Polish artist, Krzysztof Warlikowski. Previous years winners included directors Anatolij Wasiljew, Christopher Marthaler, and Alvis Hermanis; the Royal Court Theatre; playwright Biljana Srbljanovil; and others.

For the first nine editions (up until 2001), the award ceremonies took place in Taormina in Sicily. After a five year break, the ceremony was held in Turin (2006), and for the past two years it was hosted by Thessalonica. To honour the occasion, the event features performances of the winners’ works, conferences, and meetings with the artists. Acclaimed artists, theatre practitioners, critics and journalists from important European magazines and newspapers participate in the event. The prize-winners of both awards are obliged to accept them in person and to present their works.

See more: www.premio-europa.org