Logo The Grotowski Year 2009
The Grotowski Institute
  • Polish
  • English
City of Wroclaw

Wroclaw European Capital of Culture 2016

the Ministry of Science and Higher Education
Premio Europa per il Teatro
logo31st March – 5th April 

Premio Europa per il Teatro – Europe Theatre Prize award ceremony.

The award ceremony of Premio Europa per il Teatro and New Theatrical Realities will be hosted by Poland for the first time. The Grotowski Institute was the initiator, proposing to produce the event, and the final decision to hold the ceremony in Wroclaw was made in July 2008.

The Premio gala will take place in Wroclaw on the fiftieth anniversary of the taking over of the Theatre of 13 Rows (which eventually became the Laboratory Theatre) by Ludwik Flaszen and Jerzy Grotowski.

For six days in Wroclaw, starting on 31st March, there will be presentations of the winning artists’ performances, meetings, film presentations, and panel discussions dedicated to the artists’ works. The panels will be chaired by theatre specialists, critics, and prestigious artists.

5th April
Formal gala and presentation of the awards. Several hundred important Europe theatre specialists, artists, scholars, critics and publicists have been officially  invited.

The winner of the 13th Europe Theatre Prize is Krystian Lupa

The winners of the 11th New Theatrical Realities awards are (in alphabetical order):

Krystian Lupa

Guy Cassiers

Pippo Delbono


Rodrigo Garcia

Arpad Schilling

Francois Tanguy